MHH Logo

PhD Programs "Infection Biology" and "DEWIN"

Infection Biology / Dynamics of host-pathogen interactions - DEWIN



Starting in fall 2003, the Center for Infection Biology (ZIB) launched the international PhD Program Infection Biology. In 2010, a new PhD program with the title "Dynamics of Host Pathogen Interactions - DEWIN" was launched. The 3-year programs, with English as the teaching language, play a pivotal role in the training of young scientists in the field of infection biology. The objective of both programs is to investigate the complex interactions between host and pathogen as well as basic research with the combined tools of immunology, cell biology and molecular biology.


20 students from across the world are accepted each year after a rigorous selection procedure.  The study program Infection Biology is supported by the Wilhelm-Hirte Foundation, by scholarships provided by Hannover Medical School and through Georg-Christoph-Lichtenberg scholarships and administrative positions by the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony. The first DEWIN-class was supported by Georg-Christoph-Lichtenberg scholarships.  Since Fall 2004, the European Union has participated in sponsoring PhD students via the elite program "Miditrain" which is funded by the EU "Marie Curie Actions" program.


Approximately 60 students enrolled in the PhD Program work on a three-year research project and attend seminars, congresses, as well as lab courses.  Students are encouraged and supported by a network of supervisors and support teams and finish the program after the PhD examination at the end of the third year as highly qualified scientists.


All students enrolled in the PhD programs Infection Biology and DEWIN automatically become part of the Hannover Biomedical Research School (HBRS).



Find out more about research interests and group leaders here


The application site is now closed. Online applications for the October 2017 intake can no longer be submitted. Applications for the October 2018 intake will be invited from 1st December 2016 until 1st April 2017.

Please note that we only accept applications made through our online system which can be found here: