MHH Logo

Students and Alumni

Here, you see all of our present and past students!


Some already achieved their PhD degree (altogether 197 students since 2003) and have excellent career opportunities; their present positions are indicated.

Perhaps you might like to contact one of our students for any questions?!

see also our year books

 Anniversary Brochure



12th Alumni Newsletter (2017)

11th Alumni Newsletter (2016)

10th Alumni Newsletter (2015)

9th Alumni Newsletter (2014)

8th Alumni Newsletter (2013)

7th Alumni Newsletter (2012)

6th Alumni Newsletter (2011)

5th Alumni Newsletter (2010)

4th Alumni Newsletter (2009)

3rd Alumni Newsletter (2008)

2nd Alumni newsletter (2007)

1st Alumni newsletter (2006)

The first annual Alumni meeting took place on October 16th 2006, the next was on October 24th/25th, 2010. All Alumni will be invited to join the opening ceremony in October every year and organize their own reunions at the same time.

HBRS started building up a huge Alumni network. Finalists of every program will be included in the distribution list. We also have a yahoo group. Please write to

And a group on linkdn: (please get invited by one of the members)


The first Alumni survey was performed in 2006. The response rate was 44%. Read more in the 2nd Alumni newsletter

We perform regular Alumni surveys, meanwhile have a huge career network, established a "mentoring and/or meet and greet program" (we e.g. regularly invite Alumni students to our carer days), organize regional or class reunions, and will implement fundraising campaigns. For details, please contact the HBRS office (


some prizes (more recent ones, please see our Alumni newsletters):

Claudia Bang: HBRS prize 2014; 11/2014 Sir-Hans-Krebs-Prize 2014 of „Gesellschaft der Freunde der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover e.V“

Christian Bernreuther: Dr. Martini Prize, Hamburg, 2011

Mathias Christgen: Support by German „Krebshilfe“ with 288.000 € for research project „P120-Catenin Signaling im lobulären Mammakarzinom“ 2011-2013
Research Prize: Human Tissue and Cell Research by foundation „HTCR“. 2009; Hannelore Munke Forschungsstipendium (15.000 Euro) in 2011

Thomas Gebhardt: Career Development Award (RD Wright Research Fellow) from the National Health and Medical Research Council Australia 2009 (4 years)

Arnab Ghosh: American Association of Cancer Research – Dr. Judah Folkman Fellowship (Grant No. 10-40-18-GHOS); Dr. Mildred-Scheel Fellowship of the German Cancer Aid (Grant No. 108294); Fellowship Lymphoma Research Foundation 2011; Dr. Judah Folkman Award, American Association of Cancer Research 2010

Shashi Kumar Gupta: HBRS prize 2013; April 2013 Oskar-Lapp Forschungspreis 2013 (12.000 Euro) by the German Society of Cardiology and Oskar-Lapp Stiftung for his work on “The miRNA-212/132 family regulates both cardiac hypertrophy and cardiomyocyte autophagy’’ published in Nature Communications in Sep 2012

Christine Happle: Eva Luise Köhler Research prize 2013 (50.000 Euro) for new gene therapy in children with rare lung diseases; DGP Research Prize Clinical Science 2015 for PhD Ppublication in AJRCCM; 2015 7500€ research stipend by GPP (German Society of Pediatric Pneumology)

Eric Hesse: IBMS Harold Frost Award 2011; COPP Prize, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Osteologie (DGO) 2011; ASBMR/AIMM John Haddad Award 2010; ECTS New Investigator Award 2009; Gideon and Sevgi Rodan International Bone and Mineral Society (IBMS) Fellowship 2008; American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) Young Investigator Award2007; Endocrine Fellows Foundation Award 2006

Annika Kühl: Young investigator award: 17th Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections 2010, San Francisco, USA; Hector Research Prize 2011; HBRS prize 2012

Tom Lüdde: “Thannhauser-Prize“ of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Verdauungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten (10.000 Euro) in 2011; as well as the EMBO young investigator prize 2011; prize for ”best basic sciences study” on the annual meeting of the European Association of Liver Diseaases (EASL) in 2010 and was promoted as “Rising Star“ by the European Society of Gastroenterology (ASNEMGE)

Christina Nassenstein:  Von Behring-Röntgen-Nachwuchspreis 2011 (5000,- Euro); Elsevier Award in „Basic Research“, International Society for Autonomic Neuroscience (ISAN) 08/2009; Poster Prize, XXVIIth Congress of the European Academy of Allergology and Clinical Immunology06/2008; Fritz-und-Ursula-Melchers Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Immunology (DGfI) 09/2005

Axel Schambach: ASLV Patente Self-inactivating alpharetroviral vector, WO 2010/130844 A1, DE 10 2009 021 592 A12009; Else Kröner Memorial-Stipend 2006; Hans-Dietrich Herrmann Prize for Molecular Medicine 2004.

Krishna Kumar Singh: prestigious Vivien Thomas Young Investigator Award 2009 by American Heart Association, Orlando, USA; 2nd Prize for the Gallie-Bateman and McMurrich Research Presentation 2010 by University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.

Julia Skokowa: Fritz-Lampert Award of the German Society of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology 2009; Rudolf Schoen Award of the Hannover Medical School 2009; Hans-Heinrich Niemann Award of the Hannover Medical School 2007;Hans-Hench Award of the German Society of Immunology for the best PhD Thesis year 2004; Honor Lecture on 75th Anniversary of DAAD, Bundestag 2000

Frank Tacke: Young Investigator Award. European Macrophage and Dendritic Cell Society 2005; Friedrich-Wilhelm-Prize of RWTH Aachen for best Habilitation 2008; DFG Emmy Noether 2007-2012